top of page
  • hallieconrad01

About Me

Hey y'all, my name is Hallie Conrad and I will be serving as a Young Adult Volunteer in New Orleans, Louisiana for a year of service. Let me tell you a little bit about myself.

I grew up in Clemson, South Carolina and am a member of my home church, Fort Hill Presbyterian Church. Fort Hill has had a significant impact on my life. When my mother was called to be the senior pastor there in 2009, Fort Hill opened its arms with the warmest welcome imaginable. Since then, I have gained an incredible church family and friends that I know I will have for the rest of my life. Through mission trips, youth group, and Sunday service, I have been taught to be an accepting, loving human who is equipped to serve others. Thank you, Fort Hill.

After graduating from high school in 2018, I headed down to Charleston, South Carolina to attend College of Charleston. I have always been a lover of history and it was never a question that it would be my major. After my first semester, I discovered a new love for anthropology and declared it as my minor so I could keep taking classes for fun (at least for me), focusing on cultural anthropology. I graduated a semeter early and started a new position as a guest services associate at the South Carolina Historical Society in January 2022. This experience showed me the many different directions history as a discipline is taking, and inspired me to seek out a master's degree in Public History. I hope to begin in fall of 2023 and focus my studies on accessibility, digitalization, and historic sites to be equipped for a professional career.

Besides history, I have a variety of interests. I am constantly listening to music, always seeking the next concert, and teaching myself whatever instruments I can get my hands on. Coldplay is my favorite band, so if you hear their music coming from a piano, I am likely behind it. I love to read, something I was able to dive back into with all of the free time spring of 2020 allowed me. I enjoy reading thrillers and I seek the feeling of being on the edge of my seat. I also love to travel, taking advantage of any and all opportunities to go somewhere new and I can't wait to see how my interests fit into New Orleans.

I hope this post has shed a little light on who I am as a person and I am counting the days until I can begin this journey and share my experience!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page