top of page
  • hallieconrad01

Long Time No Talk

Hey y'all, long time no talk. I have never run a blog before so excuse my amateur efforts. I have been in New Orleans for about 2 months now and I have been loving it. Every single day I am amazed at this city, from it's diverse cultures and incredible food, to the people I have met. I came into this year knowing very few people in Nola, but have felt welcomed and loved since arriving. This may not be a shock, but the Presbyterian world is incredibly small and I have appreciated being in this community as I live so far from home. A few things I have realized: I do in fact have a South Carolina accent, Tony's creole seasoning really does taste good on everything, and the potholes here are no joke.


Move-in day to the Big Green House

Our first social outing on Frenchman St



Fall retreat to Breaux Bridge and Lafayette, Louisiana. We learned about Cajun culture, explored Vermillion Village, and danced as much Zydeco as possible

Shoutout to Saint Charles Presbyterian Church for a pumpkin carving night

The Mystery Gang- we had so much fun this night singing karaoke and seeing a burlesque show in Marigny for halloween


I got to travel to Houston through my work placement to attend a Climate Reality Project leadership training led by former Vice President Al Gore (who I got to eat breakfast with). It was an INCREDIBLE experience and fired me up even more about climate change and injustice that directly affects the Gulf South region, including Cancer Alley to the West of New Orleans

My view from the hotel in Houston where I got to see beautiful sunrises, sunsets, and also witness the World Series at MinuteMaid field!



56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

Hey y'all, my name is Hallie Conrad and I will be serving as a Young Adult Volunteer in New Orleans, Louisiana for a year of service. Let me tell you a little bit about myself. I grew up in Clemson, S

bottom of page