top of page
  • hallieconrad01

Major Updates

Hey y'all. It's been a crazy time since I last posted on November 3, 2022. Although there have been many changes in the last few months, I am still loving New Orleans and my YAV experience.

On January 3, 2023 I officially began new work placements. I now work at Mid-City Ministries, an after-school tutoring program for children. On Mondays and Tuesdays I tutor two sweet second grade boys who a lot of fun to play math games with and help them learn English as they are from Spanish speaking families. On Wednesdays I tutor a sixth grader who struggles in Social Studies. Needless to say, I enjoy working with her on History and writing.

On weekday mornings I work at NAMI (National Alliance for Mental Illness) New Orleans. Having my own struggles with mental health and losing loved ones to suicide has given me a special love for this organization and the cause it stands for ("Mental health for all"). I am getting some more great experience in non-profit work including customer relations, organization, and administrative tasks. My first three weeks were defined by NAMI's change of location to a beautiful old converted house.

Despite the massive changes to my weeks/work/time, I enjoy my new jobs and get a lot of joy out of the work I can do and accomplish. It's officially Carnival/Mardi Gras season and we have already attended two parades with many more coming, including this upcoming weekend. I will never not be amazed at the funny, crazy, impressive, and unique groups and people who are the heart of Mardi Gras. I even get to be a banner girl in the Hermes parade on February 17 (many photos to come, of course). I am very excited and grateful for this opportunity to not just witness but participate in Mardi Gras.

Coming soon: all my graduate school applications are in! I have already received one offer of placement from an internationally distinguished university in London, UK. I look forward to hearing from the remaining schools so I can make a decision and begin the process.



This year we spent Thanksgiving at St. George Island and Apalachicola, Florida. In October, Avery proposed to Emily and we got to celebrate with both of our families over the holiday.


On my way back to NOLA from St. George, I made a pit stop to see one of my best friends, Hayden, in Panama City Beach. It's been sad not living within a mile of her so I was very excited to see her!


NOLA YAV Christmas card 2022!


I got to go to a Saints game! And they won! It was such an incredible experience, especially with my view of the end zone. Definitely glad to check this one off the bucket list.


Conrads + our future addition, Emily

We did a rare Conrad photo shoot (Baxter included by my insistence). Can't lie, we're a good lookin' group.


Fourth annual Montreat New Year's Eve reunion in Atlanta this year. It makes me so happy to have this group of friends in my life and I love spending time with them whether for New Years or in the mountains.


I've learned its borderline impossible to take decent photos of videos of parades BUT here's proof I am Participating in the local festivities. This parade was Krewe of Chewbacchus, a beautifully nerdy production.

112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

Hey y'all, my name is Hallie Conrad and I will be serving as a Young Adult Volunteer in New Orleans, Louisiana for a year of service. Let me tell you a little bit about myself. I grew up in Clemson, S

bottom of page